Why yet another costuming blog?

So, I guess I should say hi first – hello, and welcome to my blog! 🙂

This blog has been a long time coming, mostly because I didn’t feel like there was any need to add yet another costuming blog to the roughly gazillion other ones (take or give a couple) already out there, and partly because I didn’t think that I really had much authority to say a whole lot about historical dress.

But recently (over the last couple of years or so), people have been coming up to me and asking all sorts of questions about the stuff I make, and the garb I wear to events. Sometimes, it’s similar questions from several different people, other times, it’s the sort of question that makes me go “Huh. I hadn’t thought of it that way” or “I didn’t think that aspect would pique anybody’s interest”.

So, long story short, I’m hoping this will answer some questions a few people have posed to me, and give me some sort of impetus to get my act together and record information and documentation about what I’m working on while I’m actually working on it, rather than trying to scrape it all back together several years down the track. I’m also going to use this blog as a place to store some of my class notes for classes I have previously taught, instructions I have written up for particular people,  as well as ideas I have about construction of various items of dress.

All of the information on my blog is just my own perspective on the topics, I’m not claiming that it is the One True Way ™ of making something back in the day, or that anyone else who makes the same thing differently is doing it incorrectly; this is just one perspective amongst many.

Anyway, enjoy!

L 🙂

Leave a Reply

